My Cassette Life
My Cassette Life
Racine Kilties Alumni Corp.
0:00
-1:15:17

Racine Kilties Alumni Corp.

DCI Performances - 1986

July 3, 1986

My old man was a drummer on the snare line of the Racine Kilties in the 1950’s. As a teenager, he marched in countless parades and field competitions. He eventually became a working musician in the Air Force, in what was then known as French Morocco. He played in bands on the Air Force base where he would meet my mother. The wed in July 1962, and they had me in May the following year.

Racine, Wisconsin is known for many things including Danish Kringle, S.C. Johnson Wax, J.I. Case Tractor, and of course, drum and bugle corp. If memory serves me, there were two drum and bugle corps from Racine. One was the Racine Scouts, (nicknamed “The Chrome Domes”). My old man’s youngest brother marched in that band and played the bass drum. My mother’s youngest brother also marched in the color guard with the Kiltie Kadets in the 1960’s. Suffice it to say, I saw and heard a lot of drum corp stuff as a kid.

In early 1986, my old man found out that the Kilties were going to put together a reunion alumni corp. Nothing was going to stand in his way of playing with his old buddies again. He went to rehearsals at least two or three evenings a week out at Horlick field. To say that he was excited to be playing again, was a true understatement.

On Thursday night, July 3rd, 1986 - Horlick Field presented the return of the Racine Kilties for a preview performance for the 4th of July Main street parade the following day. Following the performance, the competition for a few DCI corps took place. They included: The Phantom Regiment from Rockford, IL, The Northmen from Green Bay, WI, and The Troopers from Casper, WY.

This recording was taped on a stereo Panasonic boombox from the bleachers. If you’ve never heard a “Wis-CAHN-sin” accent before, prepare yourself.


I would like to dedicate this recording to my old man, Lawrence J. Garski. His drumming and musicianship are the reasons rhythm courses through my veins.

Rest in Peace, Pop. (1940-2022).


Leave a comment

0 Comments
My Cassette Life
My Cassette Life