My Cassette Life
My Cassette Life
Party at Curt's
0:00
-38:26

Party at Curt's

Summer 1982

July 1982

All that I can remember from this tape was that it was shortly after I got back from northern Wisconsin. My family and my grandparents did a road trip to Hayward, Wisconsin that summer. I had my motorcycle, so I opted to do the trip on two wheels. It would be my first real test of being able to ride long distances. I was up for the challenge - mostly it was because I loved the freedom of the open road.

A few days before the rest of the family was to head back to Racine, I decided to leave early and do the trip back, by myself. I told my mother that I made arrangements to stay with Curt when I got there. She didn’t like the idea of me having the entire house to myself - as if I had some sort of plans to throw a huge party in their house.

I left early in the morning before dawn. I mapped out every road, all the way down to Racine. I was looking at about 375 miles and about 6-7 hours worth of riding. I wanted to take my time and maybe stop a few times to rest. I think I got back into town around dinner time. I took a shower, changed my clothes and got a few items, got back on my motorcycle and drove over to Curt’s house. If memory serves me correctly, I think this party at Curt’s was either that same night or the very next night.

1982 was a strange year. I was 19, desperately wanting my freedom. I was only working part time, so I wanted to have fun and get drunk with my buddies. I think that Curt, Mark and I were all getting to that age where we had to start thinking about our future. I was already out of high school, Curt had just graduated and Mark was starting his senior year that Fall. I eventually moved out of my parents house two years later. Curt went off to college and Mark played in bands and worked part time jobs.

Memories of our youth, and the soundtracks to go with them.

Leave a comment

0 Comments
My Cassette Life
My Cassette Life
Authors
David Garski